The Greatest International Teams of All Time

There is always debate about the greatest international teams and in this blog, I’m going to get the chat started with who I consider the greatest of all time.

Netherlands 1988

Euro 88 Was lit up by a Dutch team containing stars including Marco van Basten (famous for that goal) and Ruud Gullit up front, Ronald Koeman and Frank Rijkaard at the back. Their 4-4-2 was template for Arrigo Sacchi’s all-conquering Milan team of the early 90s


Spain 2008-2012

Spain’s tiki-taka style was based on the Barcelona style and the Spain team of this era managed to shake off the “greatest international underachievers” tag. With stars including Xavi, Iniesta, Fabregas, Xabi Alonso and Sergio Ramos they could pass teams into submission and despite playing with no striker in a 4-6-0 formation won three international tournaments in a row. A feat that will be talked about decades from now


Brazil 1970

Everyone who loves football should watch the Brazil 1970 team. The perfect blend of skill, style and steel they were unstoppable as they marched to the 1970 World Cup thrashing Italy 4-1 in the final. This was especially impressive given how good at the Catenaccio style Italy was. Watch the final and fall in love with the samba style of Pele, Jairzinho, Tostao, Rivelino and Carlos Alberto. Arguably the most beautiful football ever played.


Hungary 1954

The Magnificent Magyars invented modern football. Managed by Marton Bukovi they showed the world the 4-4-2 system and under the coaching of former Celtic coach Jimmy Hogan, they were the first team who emphasised ball control and technique as desirable traits they were the greatest team never to win the world cup. With a team built around the immortal Ferenc Puskás, they were on a 31 game unbeaten run when they lost to West Germany in the Final.


West Germany 1972-1976

West Germany’s golden era saw them win Euro 72 against the Soviet Union, beat the sensational Netherlands 74 team to win the World Cup and narrowly lost the Euro 76 final to Czechoslovakia on penalties. Based on the Bayern Team that won three European Cups between 1974 and 1976 the team had Franz Beckenbauer, Gerd Muller, Uli Hoeness and Rainer Bonhof. Pragmatic and with plenty flair they have to be one of the greatest of all time

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *